top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichael Bynum

Still Life Portfolio

When taking my still life photos, I wanted to photograph everyday thing that I or someone own and use daily, but that wasn't always possible. I'm not influenced by one particular photographer when it comes to photographing still-lives but I do prefer to photograph very tight shots by zooming in a lot. It makes the photo more abstract, which gives the viewer a chance to have their own thoughts about the photo.


Photo 1: This is a photo of a lamp shade with a red light on inside. I took this picture by chance. I was originally shooting for the portrait and just decide to take a picture of the light we were using.

Photo 2: This is a photo of some fake sunflowers I have. I don't own a lot of orange things so I used these. I photographed them using a external flash and a salmon colored gel on a red background. I wanted to turn the tips of the flowers more orange and make the orange at the base of the petals darker. This was my first time using the external flash.


Photo 3: This is a photo of paintbrushes. I chose to zoom in on the bristles of the brushes because they were the yellow color that I needed. I was experimenting with the depth of field with this photo because I wanted it to be more than just a photo of brushes. I focused mostly on the center brushes so that the brushes towards the edge would be unfocused.


Photo 4: After using the external flash the past two weeks, I wanted to try photographic just lights. This is a photo of my Razer keyboard. This was difficult to shoot because I had to have the exposure very high and the shutter speed very low. The camera had a difficult time focusing on the letters, numbers, and symbols.

Photo 5: This is a photo of a piece of metal in Downtown Wilson. This photo was taken while playing around with my exposure. Before this I had not photographed outside.

Photo 6: This is a photo of the LED lights I have up in my room. I used the burst function right before the lights cycled to pink from blue in a otherwise completely dark room.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page